The organization received 25 entries in the Essay category and 25 entries in the Review category. The jury was “excited about a number of strong texts, about a restless new utopianism that surfaced regularly, as well as a prompt curiosity about a hybrid and sometimes chaotic world.”

The winner of the Essay category was awarded a prize of €10,000. The winner of the Review category received a prize of €7,500. In both categories, two additional prizes of €500 were given. An additional three honorable mentions were made, totaling nine recommendations.

Winners in the Essay Category:

Grand Prize: Thijs Lijster (NL, 1981)
Additional prizes:
Christophe van Eecke (BE 1977)
Nicoline Timmer (NL 1975)

Winners in the Review Category:

Grand Prize: Lynne van Rhijn (NL, 1981)
Additional prizes:
Yasmijn Jarram, (NL, 1984)
Joost Vormeer, (NL, 1983)

Marianne van Dijk (NL, 1983) and Christophe van Eecke, (BE, 1977) are honorably mentioned for their reviews and Coen van Beelen (NL, 1987) for his essay. Nicole Timmer was also selected by the organization of the jury of Dutch arts prize Prix de Rome to write their jury report.
The winning essay will appear on the website of Media Partners; the Belgian weekly Knack and de Groene Amsterdammer. As wel as in the the forthcoming printed edition of Knack and in de Groene Amsterdammer´s Christmas Special. The winner of the Review category will receive a new commission from both media partners, which will appear in the upcoming weeks. The nominated articles will be available on, with the exception of the winning Essay, which will be published after its appearance in the printed magazines. (All in Dutch only)

The jury of the Prize for Young Dutch Art Criticism 2010 was : Kris Jacobs (editor, Knack Extra), Marc Ruyters (editor in chief, <H>ART), Xandra Schutte (editor in chief, de Groene Amsterdammer), Barbara Visser (artist), Lotte Voeght (editor Rekto:Verso and editor at S.M.A.K., Ghent) and Christiaan Weijts (novelist and essayist), chaired by Maarten Doorman (Professor of Journalism and Criticism, University of Amsterdam).

The Prize for Young Dutch Art Criticism was founded in 2008 by de Appel arts centre, Fonds BKVB and Witte de With Center for Contemporary Art. In 2010, the Prize for Young Art Criticism is also organized in collaboration with Flemish-Dutch House deBuren.

Editors note:

More information: