Witte de With and de Appel arts centre, Amsterdam, are two leading institutions dedicated to the presentation of and discourse about the most challenging contemporary art in The Netherlands and internationally. Frequent collaborators, they jointly award the Prize for Young Dutch Art Criticism and they are exhibition partners of the Dutch contemporary art award, Prix de Rome. This is the first time, however, that the two institutions have worked together on a fundraising initiative. The event thus marks a decisive step into the future pursuit and more prominent visibility of new trajectories that have not been fully explored until now. It is a unique collaboration aimed at reinforcing our support bases, strengthening the relationship between our two institutions and expanding our common commitment to respective and joint audiences.

The generous support of Christie’s in this project foreshadows an unprecedented partnership in building a more solid financial ground for exhibiting and contextualizing contemporary art.
Moreover, the auction offers a rare retrospective view of Witte de With’s and de Appel’s ongoing commitment to contemporary art, as the list of artists involved traces the rich, international networks and trajectories forged by both institutions for over three decades.
We thus take this opportunity to thank the following artists who have shown their trust in our programming by so generously donating unique works of art for this fundraising initiative:
Marina Abramovic, Lara Almarcequi, Carlos Amorales, Tiong Ang, Atelier Van Lieshout, Sven Augustijnen, John Baldessari, Stephan Balkenhol, Maria Barnas, Thomas Bayrle, Erick Beltrán, Charif Benhelima, Michael Beutler, Guillaume Bijl, Marc Bijl, Pierre Bismuth, Barbara Bloom, Henning Bohl, Monica Bonvicini, Tobias Buche, Daniel Buren, Mariana Castillo Deball, Maurizio Cattelan, Yael Davids, Edith Dekyndt, De Rijke/ De Rooij, Elspeth Diederix, Honoré d’O, Stan Douglas, Marlene Dumas, Gardar Eide Einarsson, Elmgreen & Dragset, Marius Engh, Jan Fabre, Geoffrey Farmer, Coleen Fitzgibbon and Robin Winters, Claire Fontaine, Ian Forsyth & Jane Pollard, Michel François, Peter Friedl, Meschac Gaba, Dora García, Isa Genzken, Jef Geys, Liam Gillick, David Goldblatt, Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Tue Greenfort, Katharina Grosse , Andreas Gursky, Jens Haaning, Sascha Hahn, Ni Haifeng, Henrik Håkansson, Jeanne van Heeswijk & Martin Winters, Pieter Hugo, William Hunt, Runa Islam, Christian Jankowski, Gerald van der Kaap, Ilya / Emilia Kabakov, Annette Kelm, Job Koelewijn, Joachim Koester, Terence Koh, Joseph Kosuth, Harrie de Kroon, Zofia Kulik, Louise Lawler, Henrietta Lehtonen, Gabriel Lester, Erik van Lieshout, David Lieske, Rudy Luijters, Ken Lum, Jill Magid, David Maljkovic, Mark Manders, Jonathan Meese, Bjarne Melgaard, Alberto de Michele, Gareth Moore, Damian Moppett, Sarah Morris, Carsten Nicolaï, Ahmet Ögüt, Roman Ondák, Willem Oorebeek, Ulrike Ottinger, Vanessa Jane Phaff, Henrik Plenge Jakobsen, Bik Van der Pol, Pedro C. Reis, Hannah Rickards, Martha Rosler, Jan Rothuizen, Fernando Sánchez Castillo, Julião Sarmento, Tomo Savic-Gecan, Markus Schinwald, Carolee Schneemann, Gregor Schneider, Efrat Shvily, Sean Snyder, Nedko Solakov, Mladen Stilinovic, Matt Stokes, Apolonija Šušteršic, An Te Liu, Jennifer Tee, Grazia Toderi, Salla Tykka, Ulay, Kostis Velonis, Francesco Vezzoli, Barbara Visser, Silke Wagner, Richard T. Walker, Ian Wallace, Lawrence Weiner, Young-Hae Chang Heavy Industries, Tobias Zielony.

Practical information

Advance online viewing and bidding between 14 and 19 May is possible via Christie’s website. Also see the website for more information and the (online) catalogue.

Viewing times: 16 May – 19 May 2009 from 10 am until 5 pm
Auction time: 20 May 2009 at 5 pm
Location: Christies Amsterdam
Cornelis Schuytstraat 57 – 1071 JG Amsterdam
+31(0)20 57 55 255